Dissertation Idea

I am considering looking into binaural recording, the strengths ad weakness’s of it and if it has any place in the world of recorded music.

I have found a few e-journals in the library, that all talk about different uses of binaural recording, these e-journals can be my source of secondary information.

Look into a “Jecklin Disc” a baffle designed to be place between two microphones to imitate the density of a head and also Sonic Studios which produce in-ear microphones designed for field recording.

During my investigation I plan to experiment with methods of binaural recording, seeing if I can replicate it myself without any of the expensive gear and see what kind of results I get from them while recording different sound sources. (band, voice actors, foley)

Leave a Reply

